Share this story...
Latest News

Senators slip past Capitals 4-3 in OT

OTTAWA, Ontario (AP) — Kyle Turris scored on a breakaway at 3:14 of overtime to lift the Ottawa Senators over the Washington Capitals 4-3 Saturday night.

Turris stripped the puck away inside his own blue line before racing down the ice and beating Braden Holtby through his legs.

Clark MacArthur, Mark Stone and Mika Zibanejad had first-period goals for the Senators, who remain in contention for the final playoff berth in the Eastern Conference. Ottawa is three points back for the final wild-card spot.

Erik Karlsson had two assists in the win and Andrew Hammond made 29 saves to improve to 17-1-1 this season.

Marcus Johansson, Mike Green and Troy Brouwer scored for the Capitals. Holtby finished with 24 stops.

After falling behind 3-0 after the first period and entering the third period down 3-1, Green scored at 7:18 to trim the deficit. Brouwer tied the game at 15:50 to force extra time.

Johansson had the only goal of the second period to get Washington on the board. The Capitals controlled the puck in Ottawa’s zone for long stretches while outshooting them 12-7 in the period. They also got the only power play of the second, but failed to score while registering just one shot.

Stone opened the scoring at 3:21 of the first when he beat Holtby high glove side from the faceoff circle.

Washington got into penalty trouble when it took three minor penalties in a span of 88 seconds, giving the Senators a pair of extended five-on-three opportunities.

MacArthur scored at 9:03 with a near identical shot from almost the exact spot as Stone earlier in the period. Just 53 seconds later, the Senators went up 3-0 when Zibanejad scored on a one-timer from the side of the net off a Bobby Ryan pass.

Ottawa had six shots during the extended power play.

Notes: Jared Cowen, Milan Michalek, Colin Greening and Matt Puempel were scratches for the Senators. Jay Beagle was the lone scratch for the Capitals. … Holtby started his 22nd consecutive game, tying him with Wayne Stephenson for most consecutive start in Capitals’ history.

Copyright © The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.