Share this story...
Latest News

Cardinals LB Chandler Jones named NFC Defensive Player of the Year

GLENDALE, AZ - DECEMBER 03: Outside linebacker Chandler Jones #55 of the Arizona Cardinals during the NFL game against the Los Angeles Rams at the University of Phoenix Stadium on December 3, 2017 in Glendale, Arizona. The Rams defeated the Cardinals 32-16. (Photo by Christian Petersen/Getty Images)

Add some more hardware to Chandler Jones’ trophy case.

The linebacker was named the 2019 NFC Defensive Player of the Year by the NFL Committee of 101 on Tuesday.

He is the first Cardinal since 1969 to win the award voted on by the 101 media members that make up the NFL Committee.

New England cornerback Stephon Gilmore was named the committee’s AFC Defensive Player of the Year.

It’s the latest award for Jones, who was named to the Pro Football Writers of America All-NFL Team on Monday.

Selected to his third Pro Bowl and earning first-team All-Pro honors, Jones was a force in 2019. The LB set a single-season franchise record in sacks (19.0), second in the NFL in 2019, and led the league in both forced fumbles (8) and strip sacks (7). Only he and Robert Mathis have produced at least 19.0 sacks and eight forced fumbles in a single season.

Jones also turned in two four-sack efforts, becoming the just the third player in NFL history to do so. He was selected as the NFC Defensive Player of the Week twice and NFC Defensive Player of the Month in December for his efforts.

Since 2012, Jones leads all defenders in both sacks (96.0) and forced fumbles (27), and is the only player with at least 10 sacks in each of the last five seasons.

Jones will be presented with the award at the 50th annual NFL 101 Awards gala on Feb. 29 in Kansas City.

Phillips Law Group

Cardinals Interviews and Podcasts