D-backs INF Josh Rojas nominated for Roberto Clemente Award

Sep 8, 2022, 7:30 PM | Updated: 7:36 pm
Josh Rojas #10 reacts after scoring on a single by Christian Walker #53 of the Arizona Diamondbacks...
Josh Rojas #10 reacts after scoring on a single by Christian Walker #53 of the Arizona Diamondbacks during the eighth inning of a game against the San Diego Padres at PETCO Park on September 05, 2022 in San Diego, California. (Photo by Sean M. Haffey/Getty Images)
(Photo by Sean M. Haffey/Getty Images)

Diamondbacks infielder Josh Rojas was named Arizona’s Roberto Clemente Award nominee for the 2022 season on Thursday.

The award, established in 2002, honors a player each year who represents baseball through character, community involvement, philanthropy and positive contributions on and off the field.

All 30 teams get one nominee annually, and this year, there are 16 first-time options. Rojas is one of them.

The winner of the award will be decided by a panel including Commissioner Rob Manfred, MLB-affiliated networks, Roberto Clemente’s children and a fan vote.

Rojas is being honored for his support of youth baseball in the west Valley, as he hosts free camps and clinics. At the 2022 Evening on the Diamond gala, Rojas and the Arizona Diamondbacks Foundation raised $120,000 to support youth baseball and scholarships for high school athletes by auctioning a truck.

The Valley native also donated gear to Millennium High School in Goodyear, where he played.

Former D-backs players Paul Goldschmidt and Jake Diekman are also nominees. David Peralta was Arizona’s nominee last season, and longtime MLB veteran Nelson Cruz took home the award.

Fans can vote online until Oct. 5.

This year marks the 50th anniversary of Clemente’s death, which MLB is horning by hosting a food packaging volunteer event with past award winners at Citi Field, as the Pittsburgh Pirates will play the New York Mets on Roberto Clemente Day.

character counts

Character Counts is a registered trademark of the Josephson Institute.

Arizona Diamondbacks

Jordan Lawlar #1 of the National League throws for the third out in the fourth inning during the Si...
Kellan Olson

ESPN’s Passan buying D-backs rise, eyeing Jordan Lawlar 2023 debut

Could the Arizona Diamondbacks be much more competitive a year earlier than expected? ESPN's Jeff Passan believes so.
1 day ago
Catcher Carson Kelly #18 of the Arizona Diamondbacks prepares to take the field before the MLB game...
Tyler Drake

D-backs’ Carson Kelly dealing with forearm fracture, no timeline for return

The Arizona Diamondbacks will have to navigate the beginning of the regular season without starting catcher Carson Kelly.
2 days ago
Munetaka Murakami #55 of Team Japan celebrates after hitting a two-run double to defeat Team Mexico...
Associated Press

Japan walks off Mexico to set up World Baseball Classic final vs. USA

Shohei Ohtani sparked a ninth-inning rally as Japan walked off Mexico 6-5 to advance to the World Baseball Classic final against Team USA.
3 days ago
Tommy Henry #47 of the Arizona Diamondbacks pitches during the first inning of the game against the...
Arizona Sports

LHP Henry optioned as D-backs key in on final starting candidates

The Diamondbacks optioned Tommy Henry to Triple-A on Monday, whittling down their options to cement the backend of their starting rotation.
3 days ago
Starting pitcher Merrill Kelly #29 of Team USA throws a warm-up pitch during the first inning of th...
Alex Weiner

D-backs’ Merrill Kelly set up to start World Baseball Classic final for Team USA

Team USA "looks like" it will turn to Diamondbacks starting pitcher Merrill Kelly in the World Baseball Classic final on Tuesday. 
3 days ago
Paul Goldschmidt #46 of Team USA celebrates with Moookie Betts #3 after hitting a two-run home run ...
Associated Press

Turner, Goldschmidt lead Team USA to WBC final with win vs. Cuba

Defending champion United States romped over Cuba 14-2 on Sunday night to reach its second straight World Baseball Classic final.
4 days ago
D-backs INF Josh Rojas nominated for Roberto Clemente Award