Arizona football wins 96th Territorial Cup after 6 lead changes

Nov 25, 2022, 4:42 PM | Updated: 5:31 pm

Quarterback Jayden de Laura #7 of the Arizona Wildcats drops back to pass during the first half of ...

Quarterback Jayden de Laura #7 of the Arizona Wildcats drops back to pass during the first half of the NCAAF game against the Arizona State Sun Devils at Arizona Stadium on November 25, 2022 in Tucson, Arizona. This year's game is the 96th annual Territorial Cup match between Arizona rival schools. (Photo by Christian Petersen/Getty Images)

(Photo by Christian Petersen/Getty Images)

Another Territorial Cup, another classic back-and-forth game between Arizona State and Arizona Friday in Tucson.

The lead changed six times over the course of a 38-35 victory for the Wildcats, who snapped a five-game losing streak in the rivalry game.

The Sun Devils overcame two 10-point deficits to regain leads, but dropped their ninth game of the year for the first time in school history.

Arizona jumped in front 10-0, but ASU stormed back to take a 14-10 advantage going into halftime. The Sun Devils got help from a takeaway, as Ro Torrence intercepted Arizona’s Jayden de Laura in the end zone. The offense marched down the field to score the go-ahead TD.

The Wildcats’ offense had quite the third quarter, though, scoring 21 points without much trouble and retaking the lead twice. Running back Michael Wiley picked up a 72-yard touchdown run to give Arizona a 31-21 lead after the PAT.

ASU, though, scored 14 unanswered points, as quarterback Trenton Bourguet had a day. He finished the game with 376 passing yards, three touchdowns and two interceptions.

Arizona captured the lead back with 8:53 left in the game, and Jalen Harris stripped Bourguet on ASU’s next drive. The Sun Devils got the ball back with 90 seconds left, but Bourguet was intercepted to ice the game by Isaiah Taylor.

ASU turned the ball over five times.

With the win, Arizona finished 5-7 on the season, a huge improvement from its 1-11 mark last year.

Students rushed the field to celebrate the victory.

Arizona State Football

Follow @AZSports...

Arizona Sports

ASU’s Dillingham: QB Jaden Rashada ‘addicted to trying to be better’

The beginning of the Kenny Dillingham era in Tempe comes with an unknown at quarterback but also a few interesting options.

4 days ago

Kenny Dillingham, ASU football head coach...

Arizona Sports

2023 ASU football schedule includes FS1 appointments in nonconference

The Arizona State Sun Devils will begin the Kenny Dillingham era with a favorable schedule of four home games in a row.

4 days ago

(Photo by Kevin Abele/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images)...

Tom Kuebel

ASU receives commitment from 2024 prospect Albert Smith III

Arizona State football added a commitment from EDGE rusher Albert Smith III for its 2024 recruiting class, Smith announced on Twitter Sunday.

14 days ago

Offensive lineman Isaia Glass #73 of the Arizona State Sun Devils looks on from the sideline in the...

Wills Rice

The Draft Network: Pair of ASU offensive linemen impress at summer camp

Two Sun Devils competed in the second annual BRUTE OLine Development Camp in Minnesota this week and impressed scouts.

15 days ago

Follow @AZSports...

Character Counts

What a Guy: Former ASU lineman gifts Mother’s Day bouquets at hospital 

Former ASU defensive lineman and current Patriot Lawrence Guy provided a thoughtful gesture while his family was welcoming its fourth child.

17 days ago

Kori Roberson ASU football...

Jake Anderson

Arizona State lands former Oklahoma DL Kori Roberson via transfer portal

Former Oklahoma defensive lineman Kori Roberson announced his commitment to Arizona State via the transfer portal on Tuesday.

19 days ago

Arizona football wins 96th Territorial Cup after 6 lead changes