Share this story...
Latest News

Markieff Morris receives one All-Rookie vote

The NBA’s All-Rookie teams were announced Tuesday, and
while Markieff Morris of the Phoenix Suns didn’t get first
second team recognition, he did receive one first team

Morris, the 13th overall pick in last summer’s NBA Draft
out of Kansas, averaged 7.4 points and 4.4 rebounds in 63
games (7 starts). Morris was tied for 15th among league
rookies in scoring and 10th in rebounding. He finished
tied in the voting with Charlotte guard Kemba Walker, each
receiving 7

Reigning Rookie of the Year Kyrie Irving of the Cleveland
Cavaliers headed up the first team, and was joined by
Ricky Rubio of Minnesota, Denver’s Kenneth Faried, Klay
Thompson of Golden State, Iman Shumpert of New York, San
Antonio’s Kawhi Leonard and Brandon Knight of Detroit.

The second team consisted of Chandler Parsons of Houston,
Sacramento’s Isaiah Thomas, MarShon Brooks of New Jersey,
Derrick Williams of Minnesota and Cleveland’s Tristan

The voting panel consisted of the NBA’s 30 head
coaches, who were asked to
select five players for the first team and five players
for the second
team, regardless of position. Coaches were not permitted
to vote for
players on their own team. Two points were awarded for
first team votes and
one for second team votes.

Others receiving votes: Markieff Morris, Phoenix, 7
Kemba Walker, Charlotte 7; Alec Burks,
Utah 2; Norris Cole, Miami 2; Bismack Biyombo, Charlotte
2; Enes Kanter,
Utah 1; Greg Stiemsma, Boston 1; Gustavo Ayon, New Orleans
1; Nikola
Vucevic, Philadelphia 1.

Suns Interviews and Podcasts