State Farm Stadium to serve as host venue for 2021 Concacaf Gold Cup

Apr 22, 2021, 4:26 PM
Diego Reyes #5, Hector Moreno #15, Carlos Salcedo #3 and Luis Rodriguez #21 of Mexico celebrate wit...
Diego Reyes #5, Hector Moreno #15, Carlos Salcedo #3 and Luis Rodriguez #21 of Mexico celebrate with Raul Jimenez #9 after Jimenez scored a penalty shot goal against the Haiti during overtime of the CONCACAF Gold Cup semi-final match at State Farm Stadium on July 02, 2019 in Glendale, Arizona. Mexico defeated Haiti 1-0 in overtime. (Photo by Christian Petersen/Getty Images)
(Photo by Christian Petersen/Getty Images)

State Farm Stadium, the home of the Arizona Cardinals, will serve as a host venue for the Concacaf Gold Cup in 2021.

It will be the fifth time Gold Cup matches will be played in Glendale.

Concacaf announced nine group stage host cities on Thursday in addition to the already named Allegiant Stadium and DRV PNK Stadium, which will kick off and close this year’s competition.

The matches will be determined after the preliminary rounds, which will be hosted at DRV PNK Stadium in Florida from July 2-6.

State Farm Stadium has hosted Gold Cup matches in 2009, 2015, 2017 and 2019 — the last of which was a semifinal.

In that match, Mexico defeated Haiti 1-0 to advance to the Final. Mexico’s Raul Jimenez was named the man of the match after scoring the winning goal in extra time.

Mexico would advance to defeat the United States 1-0 in the Final hosted at Soldier Field in Chicago.

The Final for this year’s event will be hosted at Allegiant Stadium in Las Vegas on Aug. 1.

It has not yet been determined which teams will play at State Farm Stadium, but group play starts July 10.

2021 Gold Cup host cities

Arlington: AT&T Stadium (2009, 2011, 2013, 2017)

Austin: Q2 Stadium (first-time host)

Dallas: Cotton Bowl (1993)

Frisco: Toyota Stadium (2015, 2017, 2019)

Houston: BBVA Stadium (2013, 2015, 2017, 2019)

Houston: NRG Stadium (2005, 2007, 2009, 2011, 2019)

Glendale: State Farm Stadium (2009, 2015, 2017, 2019)

Kansas City: Children’s Mercy Park (2011, 2015, 2019)

Orlando: Exploria Stadium (first-time host)

2021 Gold Cup groups

Group A: Mexico, El Salvador, Curacao and Prelim Winner 9

Group B: U.S., Canada, Martinique and Prelim Winner 7

Group C: Costa Rica, Jamaica, Suriname and Prelim Winner 8

Group D: Honduras, Panama, Grenada and Qatar

General News

Follow @AZSports...
Arizona Sports

Trivia Tuesday: Every NFL QB with 200 or more TD passes

Can you name every NFL QB to throw at least 200 touchdown passes in their career? Think hard, it's Trivia Tuesday!
1 day ago
Northern Arizona defensive back Brenndan Johnson (4) reacts after stopping Arizona on a two point c...
Associated Press

NAU knocks off Arizona Wildcats for 1st time since 1932

Northern Arizona stopped a late two-point conversion attempt, extending Arizona’s school-record losing streak to 15 games Saturday night.
3 days ago
Arizona head coach Jedd Fisch looks on from the sideline against BYU during the second half of an N...
Wills Rice

Arizona Wildcats lose to in-state rival NAU, extend losing streak to 15

The Arizona Wildcats last won a football game on Oct. 5, 2019, and the streak did not end tonight against in-state rival NAU.
2 days ago
Arizona State wide receiver LV Bunkley-Shelton (6) catches a pass against BYU defensive back Jakob ...
Wills Rice

1st half blunders negate Arizona State’s passing attack against BYU

Despite an impressive passing attack from Arizona State in the first half, three turnovers negated the offensive success as BYU took a 21-7 lead into the locker room at halftime.
1 day ago
(Facebook photo/Hamilton High School Gridiron Club)...
Arizona Sports

Hamilton HS stuns Bishop Gorman in comeback win

Hamilton erased a three-score deficit in under 80 seconds to defeat Bishop Gorman at home on Friday night.
3 days ago
Arizona Cardinals fans cheer during the second half of an NFL football game against the Kansas City...
Arizona Sports

Reminders for fans attending Cardinals’ home opener vs. Vikings

With a full house expected, the Cardinals reminded fans of the rules in place for the game on Sunday at 1:05 p.m. against the Vikings.
4 days ago
State Farm Stadium to serve as host venue for 2021 Concacaf Gold Cup