Arizona Sports Hall of Fame announces 2019 class

May 30, 2019, 12:02 PM | Updated: 12:44 pm
Derrick Hall, Chief Executive Officer of the Arizona Diamondbacks, greets reporters as he arrives f...
Derrick Hall, Chief Executive Officer of the Arizona Diamondbacks, greets reporters as he arrives for baseball owners meetings Thursday, Feb. 7, 2019, in Orlando, Fla. (AP Photo/John Raoux)
(AP Photo/John Raoux)

The Arizona Sports Hall of Fame announced its 2019 class Thursday, and among it is a former Suns legend and a prominent Diamondbacks front office member.

Here is the entire list of inductees:

Michael Carbajal

A native of Phoenix, Carbajal is a five-time world boxing champion and won a silver medal at the 1988 Olympics Games in Seoul, competing in the light flyweight division. He finished with a record of 49-4 in his professional career with 33 knockouts. Nicknamed “Little hands of stone”, Carbajal still resides in the valley and owns two boxing gyms.

Tom Chambers

Perhaps the most famous name on the list, Tom Chambers was a three-time All-Star in five seasons with the Phoenix Suns from 1988-1993. The 6-foot-10 forward averaged 20.6 points and 6.6 rebounds per game while shooting 46.3% from the field. Chambers averaged 15.3 minutes a game in the 1993 NBA Finals, in which the Suns fell to the Chicago Bulls in six games.

Derrick Hall

An Arizona State University graduate, Derrick Hall is the president and CEO of the Arizona Diamondbacks. The Diamondbacks have the made the playoffs three times in his tenure and were named the top MLB franchise by ESPN the Magazine in 2013. The team also unveiled a new spring training facility and TV deal under Hall’s leadership.

Michael Nesbitt

Nesbitt was the head of athletic training at Northern Arizona University for 36 years and was inducted into the school’s hall of fame in 1992. He is the first person from the university to be inducted.

Amy Van Dyken-Rouen

Van Dyken-Rouen won six gold medals in two Olympic game appearances (1996, 2000), including four in the Atlanta games. She attended the University of Arizona, has appeared and hosted multiple radio shows in the Valley since her retirement and coached the varsity swim team at Notre Dame Preparatory Academy before suffering a severe spinal cord injury in an ATV accident in June of 2014, leaving her paralyzed below the waist.

Dick Tomey

Tomey is the winningest head coach in University of Arizona football history after his 14 seasons in Tucson from 1987-2000. Tomey was the Pac-10 Coach of the Year in 1992, the first in program history. Out of three 10-win seasons the program has ever had, Tomey is responsible for two of them, including a 12-1 season in 1998. The coaching legend recently passed away on May 10.

Arizona Diamondbacks

Tommy Henry #47 of the Arizona Diamondbacks pitches during the first inning of the game against the...
Arizona Sports

LHP Henry optioned as D-backs key in on final starting candidates

The Diamondbacks optioned Tommy Henry to Triple-A on Monday, whittling down their options to cement the backend of their starting rotation.
18 hours ago
Starting pitcher Merrill Kelly #29 of Team USA throws a warm-up pitch during the first inning of th...
Alex Weiner

D-backs’ Merrill Kelly set up to start World Baseball Classic final for Team USA

Team USA "looks like" it will turn to Diamondbacks starting pitcher Merrill Kelly in the World Baseball Classic final on Tuesday. 
18 hours ago
Paul Goldschmidt #46 of Team USA celebrates with Moookie Betts #3 after hitting a two-run home run ...
Associated Press

Turner, Goldschmidt lead Team USA to WBC final with win vs. Cuba

Defending champion United States romped over Cuba 14-2 on Sunday night to reach its second straight World Baseball Classic final.
2 days ago
David Peralta #6 and Eduardo Escobar #5 of the Arizona Diamondbacks celebrate after scoring on a si...
Haboob Blog

Former D-backs OF David Peralta rekindles Eduardo Escobar’s cat fear with Team Venezuela

David Peralta had some fun with Eduardo Escobar's fear of cats when they were teammates with the Diamondbacks.
18 hours ago
Brandon Pfaadt #90 of the Arizona Diamondbacks pitches in the second inning against the Cincinnati ...
Kellan Olson

Diamondbacks reassign Brandon Pfaadt, send Seth Beer to Triple-A

The Arizona Diamondbacks made 11 roster moves on Sunday that cut their spring training roster down to 40.
2 days ago
United States' Mookie Betts (3) is congratulated by teammates after he scored on a throwing error b...
Associated Press

Team USA comes from behind to defeat Venezuela, advance to WBC semis

Trea Turner hit a grand slam in the eighth inning that lifted the United States over Venezuela 9-7 Saturday night and into the WBC semis.
3 days ago
Arizona Sports Hall of Fame announces 2019 class