Share this story...
Latest News

Fowler, Rahm and Woodland commit to 2020 Phoenix Open

Rickie Fowler hits from the 16th tee during the third round of the Phoenix Open PGA golf tournament, Saturday, Feb. 2, 2019, in Scottsdale, Ariz. (AP Photo/Matt York)

The Waste Management Phoenix Open announced the early commits to the 2020 PGA Tour tournament.

Rickie Fowler, who won in 2019, will return along with Jon Rahm and 2018 winner Gary Woodland.

“We take tremendous pride in the strength of our field each year, and we expect that to be true again for 2020,” tournament chairman Tim Woods said.

“As the field starts to take shape, we’re thrilled the early commitments include some of the most talented and popular players on Tour and especially proud to have early commitments from our past two defending champions.”

Fowler was a runner-up at the “People’s Open” twice in his career before he won last year.

He is currently 23rd on the World Golf Rankings, but he missed events from August through November due to his getting married and then getting sick.

Luckily, there are several events in December and January before the Phoenix Open for Fowler to get back into his rhythm.

“Rickie is one of the most popular players in the world, and has become a definite fan favorite here in Scottsdale so we are excited to have him back at
The People’s Open,” Woods said.

Rahm is currently ranked third on the World Rankings and was recently named European Golfer of the Year.

He had a terrific PGA Tour season with 12 top-10 finishes.

The Arizona State alum finished in 10th-place at the Phoenix Open in 2019.

Woodland is tied for the lead after the first round of the 2019 Hero World Challenge on Wednesday.

Ranked the 18th-best golfer in the world by WGR, he will return to the desert looking win at the Phoenix Open for the second time. He shot an 18-under in 2018 to win.

The Phoenix Open takes place from Jan. 27- Feb. 2. The field will have 132 golfers battling for a $7.3 million purse. The victor will get $1.314 million and 500 FedExCup points.