Share this story...
Latest News

The Pulse: Wade Miley expected to lead D-backs pitchers in wins

Every day, asks readers a question. It’s the Sanderson Ford Poll Question of the Day, and it can be found midway down the right side of our home page.

On Thursday, we wanted to know: With Patrick Corbin lost to Tommy John surgery for the year, who do you expect to step up and lead the team in wins?

Who will be the winningest D-backs starting pitcher in 2014?

The response from fans was overwhelmingly in favor of Wade Miley being that guy, with 242 of the 512 who voted tapping him as the winningest D-backs starter. Bronson Arroyo garnered the next most votes, with 122 (24 percent). Of the names given, which also included Archie Bradley, Trevor Cahill and Brandon McCarthy, voters had the least faith in Cahill, who only got 27 votes (five percent).

Last season, Miley was second to Corbin in wins among Diamondbacks pitchers, with 10. Cahill had eight McCarthy had just five in 2013. Arroyo, who pitched for the Reds last year, had 14 wins — as many as Corbin, who led the Diamondbacks.

Of the pitchers listed in the poll, Cahill has the most previous wins in a single season, with 18 in 2010. McCarthy, meanwhile, has never pitched to double-digit wins in a single season of his career — something Miley has done in both of his years in the big leagues.

D-backs Interviews and Segments