Share this story...
Latest News

Arizona Rattlers’ Nick Davila, Marquis Floyd earn AFL awards

Arizona Rattlers quarterback Nick Davila was named the Arena Football League MVP and Offensive Player of the Year, the league announced Friday.


Davila (6-3, 220, Cincinnati) set a new single-season franchise record with 127 passing touchdowns in 2014, the second-highest total in AFL history. He also became the 10th player in pro football history to eclipse 500 passing touchdowns in a career and is the first and only player in the history of the sport to toss 100 or more touchdowns in five consecutive seasons. This is Davila’s first Russell Athletic Offensive Player of the Year selection and his second AFL MVP award. He was also recognized as League MVP in 2011. He joins Arena Football Hall of Famer George LaFrance as the only players in League history to win multiple AFL MVP honors.

Davila was not the only Rattler to earn an award for his work this season, as Marquis FLoyd was named the IOA Defensive Back of the Year. According to

Floyd (6-1, 190, West Georgia) led the League with 13 interceptions in 2014. The seven-year veteran earned his second career All-Arena selection this season after logging 86 tackles and nine pass breakups for the Rattlers. This is his first IOA Defensive Back of the Year selection.

The Rattlers are set to face off with the Cleveland Gladiators Saturday in ArenaBowl XXVII. It is Arizona’s fourth straight appearance in the game, and a win would give the team its third consecutive title.