Share this story...
Latest News

Arizona Wildcats’ Scooby Wright, Cayleb Jones selected to Athlon Sports preseason All-Pac-12 First Team

Arizona Wildcats junior linebacker Scooby Wright and redshirt junior wide receiver Cayleb Jones were named to the Athlon Sports All-Pac-12 preseason First Team Tuesday.

Wright and Jones highlighted the nine Wildcats who earned all-conference honors in the list.

Wright won the Bronco Nagurski Trophy, Rotary Lombardi Award and Chuck Bednarik Award for the nation’s best defender after a breakout 2014 season.

He finished in the top five in the FBS in total tackles (163), tackles for loss (29.0), sacks (14.0) and forced fumbles (6) in a 2014 season that saw him named as the Pat Tillman Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year.

Jones was Arizona’s leading receiver in 2014, catching 73 passes for 1,019 yards and nine touchdowns.

Other honorees included sophomore running back Nick Wilson (second team), senior safety Will Parks (second team), redshirt senior punter Drew Riggleman (second team), sophomore quarterback Anu Solomon (third team), senior defensive lineman Reggie Gilbert (third team), redshirt junior Freddie Tagaloa (fourth team) and redshirt junior Davonte’ Neal.