Diamondbacks’ Torey Lovullo finishes top 5 in Manager of Year voting

Nov 14, 2023, 4:47 PM | Updated: 7:12 pm

Arizona Diamondbacks manager Torey Lovullo...

Arizona Diamondbacks manager Torey Lovullo watches batting practice Wednesday, Oct. 18, 2023, at Chase Field in Phoenix. The Diamondbacks will play Game 3 against the Philadelphia Phillies in the baseball NL Championship Series on Thursday. (AP Photo/Ross D. Franklin)

(AP Photo/Ross D. Franklin)

Arizona Diamondbacks manager Torey Lovullo finished fourth in the 2023 National League Manager of the Year vote.

First-year manager Skip Schumaker won the award on Tuesday after leading the Miami Marlins to 84 wins and their first postseason appearance since 2020. The last skipper to win NL Manager of the Year in his first season was Lovullo in 2017.

Craig Counsell finished second after the Milwaukee Brewers won the NL Central with 92 wins, although he signed a contract to manage the Chicago Cubs this offseason. Atlanta Braves skipper Brian Snitker rounded out the top three.

Lovullo was not a finalist but received four first-place votes, five second-place votes and seven third-place votes out of 30 ballots. He finished just ahead of Los Angeles Dodgers manager Dave Roberts in points.

The Diamondbacks won 84 games during the regular season to clinch a wild card spot in Lovullo’s seventh year managing the club after winning 74 in 2022 and 52 in 2021.

The D-backs vaulted to first place in the NL West through the first half of the campaign. They fell out of the postseason picture with a nine-game losing streak in August but steered back in the right direction to catch and pass other wild card competitors in September.

Arizona defeated the Brewers, Dodgers and Philadelphia Phillies to capture the NL pennant before losing to the Texas Rangers in the World Series, however the Manager of the Year award does not account for playoff performance.

Lovullo agreed to a contract extension through 2026 following the postseason run, giving him stability after a series of one-year extensions.

The D-backs have had three Manager of the Year award winners in franchise history: Lovullo (2017), Kirk Gibson (2011) and Bob Melvin (2007).

Outfielder Corbin Carroll won Arizona’s first NL Rookie of the Year award on Monday, and starter Zac Gallen is a finalist for NL Cy Young (announcement on Wednesday).

Arizona Diamondbacks

Shohei Ohtani...

Alex Weiner

Dodgers sign Shohei Ohtani to largest contract in North American sports history

The biggest star in baseball heads to the National League West, as Shohei Ohtani announced on Instagram he is signing with the Dodgers.

2 days ago

Eduardo Rodriguez...

Alex Weiner

Diamondbacks sign starting pitcher Eduardo Rodriguez to 4-year deal

The Arizona Diamondbacks officially agreed to terms with free agent left-handed starting pitcher Eduardo Rodriguez on Friday.

3 days ago

Jorge Soler...

Kevin Zimmerman

Report: Diamondbacks considering Jorge Soler, seek more offensive help

The Arizona Diamondbacks have shown interest in Miami Marlins free agent Jorge Soler, per a report. He could fit as designated hitter.

3 days ago


Arizona Sports Video

Video: What the Eduardo Rodríguez signing means for the rest of the Diamondbacks’ offseason

Video: Felisa Cárdenas and Jeremy Schnell/Arizona Sports

4 days ago


Arizona Sports Video

Video: Arizona Diamondbacks reportedly sign starting pitcher Eduardo Rodriguez, Bickley & Marotta react

The Arizona Diamondbacks agreed to terms with free agent left-handed starting pitcher Eduardo Rodriguez, ESPN’s Jeff Passan first reported on Wednesday evening. Arizona Sports hosts Dan Bickley and Vince Marotta react.

4 days ago

Juan Soto...

Associated Press

San Diego Padres trade All-Star Juan Soto to Yankees in 7-player deal

The New York Yankees acquired All-Star slugger Juan Soto in a blockbuster trade with the cost-cutting San Diego Padres on Wednesday night.

4 days ago

Diamondbacks’ Torey Lovullo finishes top 5 in Manager of Year voting