Share this story...
Latest News

Kennedy finishes fourth in NL Cy Young

Arizona Diamondbacks’ right-hander Ian Kennedy finished
fourth in the balloting for the National League Cy Young
Award, as announced Thursday by the Baseball Writers
Association of America.

Los Angeles lefty Clayton Kershaw took home the award, while
Philadelphia’s Roy Halladay and Cliff Lee finished 2nd and
3rd, respectively.

Kennedy, in just his second year with the team, tied with
Kershaw for the league lead with 21 victory, and led all
major league pitchers in winning percentage (.840).

Kershaw won the award with ease, garnering 27 of 32 first
place votes and 207 points overall. Halladay received 4
first place votes and Kennedy had one.

Arizona manager Kirk Gibson was named the National League
Manager of the Year earlier this week, and D-backs’ right
fielder Justin Upton is a candidate for the NL Most Valuable
Player Award, which will be handed out on November 22nd.