Share this story...
Latest News

Arizona Cardinals release first depth chart

As anyone who has followed the NFL for any period of time can tell you, it would behoove one not to read much into the first preseason depth chart.

No matter what it says, injuries and performances are likely to change things before the first regular season game.

However, that does not mean they can’t be of some interest, and the first one released by the Arizona Cardinals certainly has parts that make you go “ooh.”

Of note, Levi Brown is listed as the starter at left tackle while newcomer Eric Winston will start on the right side of the line. Second-year pro Michael Floyd is listed as the number two receiver ahead of Andre Roberts, and rookie Jonathan Cooper will be the starting left guard.

On defense, new linebackers Jasper Brinkley, Lorenzo Alexander and Karlos Dansby are all in the starting lineup, and in the secondary free agent pickup Jerraud Powers will start opposite Patrick Peterson.

The depth charts for both offense and defense can be seen by clicking on the photo to the left, with rookies’ names underlined and injured players’ names being in parenthesis. The special teams order is as follows:

Kicker: Jay Feely/Will Batson

Punter: Dave Zastudil/Will Batson

Long Snapper: Mike Leach/Alex Gottlieb

Holder: Dave Zastudil/Will Batson

Kick Returner: Javier Arenas/Alfonso Smith/Stepfan Taylor/Andre Ellington

Punt Returner: Patrick Peterson/Javier Arenas/Tyrann Mathieu/Charles Hawkins