Terrell Suggs, Anthony Robles headline 2022 Sun Devil Hall of Fame class

Jul 7, 2022, 2:25 PM

1 Dec 2001:  Terrell Suggs #48 of the Arizona State Sun Devils lines up across from Mike Seidman #1...

1 Dec 2001: Terrell Suggs #48 of the Arizona State Sun Devils lines up across from Mike Seidman #18 of the UCLA Bruins during the Pac-10 Conference football game at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, California. The Bruins defeated the Sun Devils 52-42. Mandatory Credit: Jeff Gross /Getty Images

The Arizona State Sun Devils announced their 2022 Hall of Fame and Hall of Distinction classes, which include nine Sun Devil legends.

The induction is set to take place Oct. 8, 2022, when ASU football hosts Washington at Sun Devil Stadium.

2022 ASU Hall of Fame Class

Terrell Suggs — football

From 2000-02 Suggs led the Sun Devils in sacks and tackles for loss. He still holds ASU records for sacks (24) and tackles (31.5) for loss in a season in 2002, career sacks (44) and career tackles for loss (65.5). Suggs was the 10th pick in the 2003 NFL Draft and selected by the Baltimore Ravens. In his professional career, Suggs was a two-time Super Bowl champion and won the 2011 NFL AP Defensive Player of the Year. 

Anthony Robles — wrestling

Robles was regarded as one of the top collegiate wrestlers in the country during his time in a Sun Devil uniform. Robles was a three-time All-American from 2008-11 and made four trips to the NCAA Championships. Robles finished his final season in Tempe as the 2011 NCAA Champion at 125 pounds as he capped off a perfect 36-0 season. Following his career as a Sun Devil, Robles was a 2012 inductee into the National Wrestling Hall of Fame, and a 2017 inductee into the Arizona Sports Hall of Fame. In 2022, Robles took the head wrestling coach job at Mesa High School and has served as ESPN’s lead wrestling analyst for the past nine years.

Briann January — women’s basketball 

January ended her ASU career atop numerous statistical categories, which include assists (first/now second), free-throw percentage (first), steals (second), free-throws (second), 3-point field goal percentage (fourth), 3-point field goals (fifth/now seventh) and points (seventh/now ninth). January was named a two-time Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year. She was eventually drafted by the Indiana Fever with the sixth pick in the 2009 WNBA Draft. In 2021, January became just the third Sun Devil women’s basketball player to have her number honored at Desert Financial Arena in Tempe. 

Anna Nordqvist — women’s golf

Nordqvist turned pro midway through her junior year and tied for fifth at the 2008 NCAA Championships. Nordqvist won three major championships that include the 2009 LPGA Championship, the 2017 Evian Championship and the 2021 Women’s British Open. She has earned over $9 million in her professional career. 

Ryan Whiting – men’s track and field

During his collegiate career, Whiting earned nine NCAA All-American honors and six NCAA titles that include three indoor shot put (2008-10), two outdoor shot put (2009-10) and one discus (2008). In 2008, the U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association chose Whiting as the American indoor performer of the year, and in 2010, he was one of three finalists for The Bowerman, which is the highest honor in collegiate track and field.

Jessica Pressley — women’s track and field

Pressley finished her Sun Devil career as one of the best shot put throwers in program history. Pressley won back-to-back NCAA Championships in 2007 and 2008. Her 2007 title helped the Sun Devils capture their first NCAA women’s track and field championship. 

Caitlin Andrew – women’s swimming

Andrew left her mark on Sun Devil swimming by capturing five school records by the conclusion of her career. She broke school records in the 50 free, 100 free, 100 back, 200 back and 100 fly. Andrew finished her Sun Devil career with nine All-American awards.  

2022 Hall of Distinction Class

Charli Turner Thorne — head women’s basketball coach

Turner Thorne finished her career with the Sun Devils as the winningest coach in ASU women’s basketball history and is No. 2 all-time in career wins by a Pac-12 coach. Turner Thorne was named Pac-12 Coach of the Year twice and led ASU to 14 NCAA Tournament appearances and three Pac-12 championships. Turner Thorne’s ASU teams made the postseason all but two seasons since 2001, including a span in which the Sun Devils reached six consecutive NCAA Tournament appearances. Turner Thorne announced her retirement on March 3, 2022.  

Don Bocchi — football assistant coach & senior associate athletic director

Bocchi spent almost 40 years with Arizona State, starting as an assistant football coach in 1985. In 2021, Bocchi retired as a senior athletic director, which includes overseeing eight varsity head coaches and programs. Bocchi was integral in the hiring of current ASU coaches Matt Thurmond (men’s golf), Matt Hill (men’s tennis), Zeke Jones (wrestling) and Graham Winkworth (soccer).

Arizona State Football

Arizona State football head coach Kenny Dillingham...

Damon Allred

Local 2025 WR Uriah Neloms commits to Arizona State football

San Tan Charter wide receiver Uriah Neloms announced his commitment to Arizona State football's 2025 class on Sunday.

7 hours ago

ESPN has Arizona's quarterback situation as of the best tiers in college football while Arizona Sta...

Bailey Leasure

ESPN: Arizona has one of the best quarterback situations in 2024

ESPN has Arizona football's quarterback situation in one of the top tiers in college football. Arizona State's ranks much lower.

1 day ago

Graham Rossini...

Arizona Sports

ABOR to review contract for Arizona State AD Graham Rossini, details revealed

Arizona State University will ask the Arizona Board of Regents next week to approve a contract for hired athletic director Graham Rossini.

3 days ago

Big 12 logo...

Arizona Sports

Reports: Big 12 discussing naming rights deal with Allstate

The Big 12 is reportedly considering becoming the first conference to agree to a naming-rights deal with its conference brand.

3 days ago

Arizona State football head coach Kenny Dillingham...

Ryan Pasiecznik

A ‘Goofy’ prank: Kenny Dillingham makes Arizona State players plank for College Football 25

Arizona State head football coach Kenny Dillingham had players plank to win EA Sports' College Football 25. They won A Goofy Movie instead.

3 days ago

Arizona AD Desiree Reed-Francois, Big 12 commissioner Brett Yormark and Arizona State AD Graham Ros...

Kevin Zimmerman

Big 12 commissioner Brett Yormark already planning for next TV deal

Big 12 commissioner Brett Yormark met with the Arizona Board of Regents on Thursday to present his plan for the new conference.

10 days ago

Terrell Suggs, Anthony Robles headline 2022 Sun Devil Hall of Fame class