Oklahoma State refuses to acknowledge ‘loss’ on rings
Officially, coach Mike Gundy and his Oklahoma State Cowboys finished the 2016 season with a 10-3 record, with their final game being a 38-8 stomping of Colorado in the Alamo Bowl.
But, according to the rings they received for that victory, it was their 11th win of the season.
Now, the backstory.
In the second week of the season, Oklahoma State played a spunky, if not particularly great, Central Michigan team in Stillwater.
The Cowboys jumped out to an early lead, but fell behind in the fourth quarter. Not surprisingly they rallied back and held a 27-24 advantage when they turned the ball over on downs as time expired on the game.
Oklahoma State QB Mason Rudolph was flagged for intentional grounding on the final play, however, and the referees decided the penalty meant the Chippewas would take over at their own 49 yard line for one untimed down.
It was then that this happened:
Great play, yes. But it should never have come to that.
It was ruled that the referees made a mistake, and that the final play should never have happened. The officials from the game as well as the replay crew ended up being suspended for their mistakes.
But of course, that did not erase the score that went down in the books, which was a loss for Oklahoma State, one of three they would finish the season with.
Unless you look at their rings.
- Coach Bobby Hurley making changes to keep ASU out of foul trouble
- NFL to now have some full-time officials on its roster
- Fans weren’t pleased with the referees in the North Carolina-Gonzaga game
- Here is Oklahoma State coach Mike Gundy on rattlesnakes and not football
- Arizona names CMU’s Dave Heeke new athletic director