Share this story...
Latest News

ASU’s Chris Coyle on Mackey Award Watch List

Arizona State senior tight end Chris Coyle was one of 37 players named to the 2013 Mackey Award Watch List Tuesday. The award is presented annually to the best tight end in college football.

With 57 catches in 2012, Coyle not only led the Sun Devils in that category, but he established a new school record for catches in a single season by a tight end. Zach Miller had 56 catches for Arizona State in 2004.

Coyle had only 6 catches for 73 yards entering the 2012 season, but eclipsed that total in ASU’s second game of the year when he nabbed 10 catches for 131 yards and two touchdowns in a 45-14 win over Illinois.

The Westlake Village, Calif. product is one of seven Pac-12 players on this year’s Mackey Award Watch List, joining Xavier Grimble and Randall Telfer of USC, Luke Kaumatule of Stanford, Oregon’s Colt Lyerla, Jake Murphy of Utah and Austin Seferian-Jenkins of Washington.

A midseason watch list for the Mackey Award will be announced on October 14, and the trophy will be handed out December 12 during The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show on ESPNU.