Share this story...
Latest News

College Football Hall of Fame ballot includes Carson Palmer, ASU alumni

Arizona Cardinals QB Carson Palmer passes during the first half of an NFL football game against the Philadelphia Eagles, Sunday, Oct. 8, 2017, in Philadelphia. (AP Photo/Michael Perez)

The 2020 College Football Hall of Fame class could include one or more players tied to the state of Arizona.

Former ASU defensive back David Fulcher, former Cardinals QB Carson Palmer, former NAU running back Archie Amerson and former ASU head coach Darryl Rogers are all on the the 2020 ballot for the College Football Hall of Fame.

This is Palmer’s first appearance on the ballot. Amerson and Rogers are back on the ballot for the second time, while Fulcher is returning to the ballot for the third time.

Although Palmer didn’t play at an Arizona college, he was the quarterback for the Cardinals from 2013-2017. Palmer played at USC where he was the 2002 consensus First Team All-American and Heisman Trophy recipient. USC had its first 11-win season since 1979 while also sharing the Pac-10 title in 2002. He also was Pac-10 Co-Offensive Player of the Year in 2002 while setting conference and school career records for total offense (11,621 yds) and passing yards (11,818).

Fulcher was a two-time First Team All-American and three-time All-Pac 10 selection. He recorded 14 interceptions, including six in 1985, and 286 tackles in his career at ASU.

Rogers coached at ASU from 1980-1984 and went 37-18-1 in his four years there. He also led them to the 1983 Fiesta Bowl beating Oklahoma 32-21. Rogers coached at Cal State East Bay (1965), Fresno State (1966-72), San Jose State (1973-75) and Michigan State (1976-79). Rogers took Fresno State to two bowl games and was named Big Ten Coach of the Year in 1977.

Amerson played only two seasons at NAU and became the school’s all-time career rushing leader (3,196 yards). In 1996, he was named First Team All-American and the Walter Payton Award recipient as Division I-AA’s most outstanding offensive player leading NAU to its first-ever I-AA playoff appearance.

Players can only be considered for the College Football Hall of Fame if they received First-Team All-American recognition at least once.

A coach must have been a head coach for a minimum of 10 years and coached at least 100 games with a .600 winning percentage. Coaches must also be at least three full seasons into retirement or can immediately qualify following retirement provided he is at least 70 years of age.

The 2020 class will be announced in the days prior to the 2020 College Football Playoff National Championship in New Orleans.


Comment guidelines: No name-calling, personal attacks, profanity, or insults. Please keep the conversation civil and help us moderate comments by reporting abuse.
comments powered by Disqus

Cardinals Interviews and Podcasts

Sun Devils Interviews and Podcasts