Remember 2011: D-backs eliminated from NL West as Dodgers claim 10th title in 11 years

Sep 17, 2023, 11:03 AM | Updated: 4:32 pm

Arizona Diamondbacks players celebrate in the locker room after an MLB baseball game against the San Francisco Giants, Friday, Sept. 23, 2011, in Phoenix. The Diamondbacks defeated the Giants 3-1 and won the 2011 National League West Champions title. (AP Photo/Ross D. Franklin)

It’s now an even dozen, officially.

The Los Angeles Dodgers clinched the NL West title for the 10th time in 11 seasons with a 6-2 win in 11 innings over the Seattle Mariners Saturday.

With the win, the Arizona Diamondbacks marked 12 straight years –since 2011 — in which they did not capture the National League West Division crown.

While the D-backs are still competing for a wild card berth, the 2011 season was memorable for a plethora of reasons.

The 2011 Diamondbacks went 94-68, the third most victories in team history, trailing only the 1999 and 2002 seasons.

In an indication of how times have changed, in 2011 the D-backs finished 8 games ahead of the second place San Francisco Giants and 11.5 games ahead of the Los Angeles Dodgers. It was the fifth division title in team history.

That 2011 squad was led offensively by OF Justin Upton, 2B Aaron Hill, OF Gerardo Parra, 1B Lyle Overbay and OF Willie Bloomquist.

Ian Kennedy had perhaps his best year on the hill, with a 21-4 record and a 2.88 ERA in 222 innings. Daniel Hudson was not too bad, either, with a 16-12 record and a 3.49 ERA in 222 innings. Josh Collmenter and Joe Saunders also had some of their best season performances, notching double-digit victories.

And who could forget 2011 was also the year that Paul Goldschmidt began his MLB career? His grand slam against the Milwaukee Brewers in the National League Division series showed how valuable a player he would be to the franchise and throughout his career.

The 2011 season ended disappointingly, however, with a 3-2 loss to the Brewers in the NLDS.

While the wild card would be special this season – as it was in 2017, the last time the D-backs qualified for the postseason – a NL West title in 2024 would be better.

Arizona Diamondbacks

General Manager Mike Hazen of the Arizona Diamondbacks watches batting practice during a postseason...

Wills Rice

Report: D-backs extend general manager Mike Hazen through at least 2028

The Arizona Diamondbacks have reportedly extended general manager Mike Hazen on Wednesday, azcentral's Nick Piecoro reported.

58 minutes ago

Ketel Marte...

Alex Weiner

Diamondbacks’ young bats and stellar defense complete Game 1 comeback vs. Brewers

Three home runs and a stellar bullpen outing allowed the Diamondbacks to win Game 1 of the NLWS against the Brewers.

12 hours ago

Freddy Peralta, Milwaukee Brewers starting pitcher...

Arizona Sports

Freddy Peralta will start for Brewers in Wednesday wild card vs. Diamondbacks

The Milwaukee Brewers will throw starting pitcher Freddy Peralta in Game 2 of their NL Wild Card series against the Arizona Diamondbacks.

14 hours ago

Evan Longoria, Diamondbacks vs. Brewers wild card series...

Kevin Zimmerman

Evan Longoria dive sets up Diamondbacks’ double-play to strand Brewers

Evan Longoria saved the Arizona Diamondbacks in Game 1 of the NL Wild Card matchup against the Milwaukee Brewers with a diving snag.

16 hours ago

Corbin Carroll hits a home run in Game 1 of NL Wild Card between Diamondbacks vs. Brewers...

Kevin Zimmerman

Carroll, Marte hit back-to-back HRs; Diamondbacks bullpen helps take Game 1 from Brewers

Corbin Carroll and Ketel Marte answered after the Milwaukee Brewers jumped on the Arizona Diamondbacks in Game 1 of the NL Wild Card series.

17 hours ago

Cleveland Guardians manager Terry Francona, left, stands for the national anthem next to third base...

Associated Press

Arizona resident, UA legend, Lovullo influence Terry Francona retires

Tucson resident and U of A alumnus Terry Francona stepped away from the game on Tuesday, ending a 23-year managerial career.

17 hours ago

Remember 2011: D-backs eliminated from NL West as Dodgers claim 10th title in 11 years