Register | Forgot Your Password? | Close
Bonneville Phoenix Network
 KTAR News
 Arizona Sports
Login or Register
AP: ap_8e85e4ff28265d0a4e0f6a7067000c63
Arizona players, including Gabe York (1), T.J. McConnell (4) and Elliott Pitts (24), react to a 3-point basket late in the second half of an NCAA college basketball game against Utah in the quarterfinals of the Pac-12 Conference tournament, Thursday, March 13, 2014, in Las Vegas. Arizona won 71-39. (AP Photo/Julie Jacobson)
Despite a loss Saturday to UCLA in the Pac-12 championship game, the 30-4 Arizona Wildcats were chosen as one of the four No. 1 seeds in the NCAA Tournament.

The tournament selection committee placed the Wildcats at the top of the West region Sunday. Sixty-eight teams in total were selected to the tourney. Arizona is slated to face No. 16 Weber State in the second round of the postseason tournament at 11:10 a.m. MST on Friday, March 21, at San Diego State's Viejas Arena.

If the Wildcats advance past their first challenge, they will face the winner of the Gonzaga-Oklahoma State contest; those two programs are ranked No. 8 and 9 in the region, respectively.

The Sweet Sixteen round of the West region will be played in Anaheim, Calif.

Arizona broke a school record by winning its first 21 games to open the season, and the program was ranked No. 1 in the nation for a good portion of the year. Coach Sean Miller's squad lost four of its last 13 games, but was ranked No. 4 in the country before losing to UCLA on Saturday in Las Vegas.

The Wildcats, who had the Pac-12's best record in the regular season, are going to the NCAA's top tournament for the second year in a row. As a No. 6 seed in 2013, they made it to the Sweet Sixteen round before losing a close contest to the No. 2 Ohio State Buckeyes.

Arizona wasn't the only school from the state to make the postseason dance Sunday. Arizona State, which split the season series with the Wildcats, was selected as a No. 10 seed in the Midwest region.

Arizona Sports,

share this story:
Attention Comment Users: We have recently changed our comments boards.
We would like you to be part of the conversation with all fans of Arizona sports teams by logging in with your Facebook, Twitter, Google+ or Disqus account. Existing Arizona Sports (KTAR) account members will need to create a Disqus account or use one of the aforementioned social media logins. Thank you.
comments powered by Disqus
Team Leaders