Trivia Tuesday: Highest-finishing non-QBs in Heisman voting

Oct 22, 2019, 6:00 AM
Follow @AZSports...

Once upon a time, the Heisman Trophy was awarded to college football’s best player, regardless of position.

That’s changed in the last 20 years. Only four times in the last 20 seasons has a non-QB won the award — and they’ve all been running backs.

So we got to thinking, how well can you remember the highest-finishing non-quarterbacks in the race for college football’s most prestigious individual award?

That’s this week’s Trivia Tuesday challenge. We’ve given you the year, the player’s finish, his school and position — all you have to do is provide the name (last names only are cool).

You’ve got eight minutes on the clock…good luck!

* – The winner, a RB, had to forfeit his Heisman Trophy win as part NCAA sanctions

Penguin Air


Comment guidelines: No name-calling, personal attacks, profanity, or insults. Please keep the conversation civil and help us moderate comments by reporting abuse.
comments powered by Disqus

Arizona State Football

Colorado running back Alex Fontenot runs away from Arizona State linebacker Merlin Robertson (8) in...
Arizona Sports

ESPN picks ASU’s, Arizona’s best 2023 NFL Draft prospects

Arizona and Arizona State are on different trajectories heading into the 2022 season, but both teams have potential NFL prospects.
1 day ago
Arizona State Sun Devils tight end Messiah Swinson catches a ball during ASU fall camp practice in ...
Jake Anderson

Arizona State’s offense starting to click, TE Messiah Swinson an X-factor

ASU's offense is finally starting to click as the team completes its second week of fall camp, including the first practice in full pads.
1 day ago
ASU football released gray uniforms it will wear on Oct. 8 for a game against the Washington Huskie...
Kevin Zimmerman

ASU football drops sunrise-inspired tan uniforms

Arizona State football revealed a tan alternate uniform option that the Sun Devils will wear in a home game against the Washington Huskies.
1 day ago
Quarterback Jayden Daniels #5 of the Arizona State Sun Devils looks to throw under pressure from li...
Arizona Sports

ESPN’s Connelly: 2 ASU transfers can dictate College Football Playoff

As Arizona State manages low expectations from outside the program, it's easy to forget its place in the larger fabric of college football.
1 day ago
Head coach Herm Edwards of the Arizona State Sun Devils before the NCAAF game against the Washingto...
Arizona Sports

Thamel lists ASU’s Herm Edwards among 4 on college football hot seat

ASU football players have noticed all the headlines from the past year of an NCAA investigation hovering over the program. Here's another.
3 days ago
Arizona State running back Daniyel Ngata (4) eludes Stanford linebacker Ricky Miezan, second from l...
Arizona Sports

State of the Sun Devils podcast: Running the football

On the latest State of the Sun Devils, Jesse Morrison, Jeremy Schnell and Arizona State reporter Jake Anderson break down ASU's running game.
3 days ago
Trivia Tuesday: Highest-finishing non-QBs in Heisman voting