NFLPA approves collective bargaining agreement by just 60 votes

Mar 15, 2020, 7:39 AM | Updated: 9:30 am
(AP Photo/Rick Osentoski, File)...
(AP Photo/Rick Osentoski, File)
(AP Photo/Rick Osentoski, File)

In a narrow 60 vote differential, the NFL Players Association voted to approve a new collective bargaining agreement.

The association announced the results on Twitter, releasing a statement.

The final tally was 1,019 “yes” votes to 959 “no” votes.

As a result, NFL seasons will now consists of 17 regular season games and the playoff format will be expanded to seven teams per conference.

Team officials were also informed that the 2020 salary cap will be set at $198.2 million and $44.7 million in benefits.

Further discussions between the league and the NFLPA are expected to determine the date for the beginning of a new league calendar.

The new agreement also includes an increase in minimum salaries for players and an increase in player revenue sharing.

The agreement is set to last 10 years through 2030.

In terms of free agency, under the new deal teams will be allowed either one Franchise Tag or one Transition Tag instead of one of each.

Notable free agents this upcoming season – whenever the new league date is set – include Tom Brady, Ryan Tannehill and Derrick Henry.

Players like Russell Wilson, J.J. Watt, Jarvis Landry, Aaron Donald, Stefon Diggs and Todd Gurley have expressed on social media and other outlets that they would be voting “no” for the new deal, mostly citing player safety as their top concern.

Arizona Cardinals players Patrick Peterson and Kenyan Drake were outspoken against the deal, even after its approval.

Others like Ryan Fitzpatrick, Nate Solder and Devon Kennard expressed support for the deal, citing benefits for the league’s “core players.”


Comment guidelines: No name-calling, personal attacks, profanity, or insults. Please keep the conversation civil and help us moderate comments by reporting abuse.
comments powered by Disqus

Arizona Cardinals

Carlos Watkins #91 of the Dallas Cowboys runs into the endzone for a touchdown as Taysom Hill #7 of...
Kellan Olson

Arizona Cardinals sign former Cowboys DL Carlos Watkins

The Arizona Cardinals signed former Dallas Cowboys defensive lineman Carlos Watkins on Thursday.
2 days ago
Kansas City Chiefs cornerback Rashad Fenton kneels on the field before the AFC championship NFL foo...
Arizona Sports

Cardinals ink Rashad Fenton to boost CB depth

The Arizona Cardinals signed former Kansas City Chiefs and Atlanta Falcons cornerback Rashad Fenton to a one-year deal on Thursday.
2 days ago
Arizona Cardinals WR Hollywood Brown (Tyler Drake/Arizona Sports)...
Arizona Sports

Cardinals WR Hollywood Brown fined in speeding case

Arizona Cardinals receiver Hollywood Brown was fined $473 with credit for time served for an August speeding arrest on the Loop 101 freeway.
3 days ago
Colt McCoy #12 of the Arizona Cardinals and Kyler Murray #1 of the Arizona Cardinals warm up prior ...
Tyler Drake

Cardinals ‘feel really good’ at QB as Kyler Murray preps for next phase of rehab

Arizona Cardinals quarterback Kyler Murray is making steady progress in his rehabilitation from a torn ACL suffered last season.
3 days ago
Arizona Cardinals star backer Isaiah Simmons (Tyler Drake/Arizona Sports)...
Tyler Drake

Isaiah Simmons remains positionless in Cardinals’ new-look defense

The Cardinals have a decision to make when it comes down to Isaiah Simmons. And no, it's not centered around the fifth-year option.
4 days ago
DeAndre Hopkins #10 of the Arizona Cardinals is called for a personal foul penalty against Eric Sto...
Tyler Drake

Jonathan Gannon operating under premise DeAndre Hopkins will be a Card

While the trade chatter surrounding wide receiver DeAndre Hopkins continues, he's a Cardinal until he isn't in HC Jonathan Gannon's eyes.
3 days ago
NFLPA approves collective bargaining agreement by just 60 votes