ASU’s Charli Turner Thorne named Pac-12 Coach of the Year

Mar 1, 2016, 7:18 AM
Arizona State head coach Charli Turner Thorne during the third quarter of an NCAA college basketbal...
Arizona State head coach Charli Turner Thorne during the third quarter of an NCAA college basketball game against UCLA, Friday, Feb. 5, 2016, in Tempe, Ariz. Arizona State defeated UCLA 65-61. (AP Photo/Rick Scuteri)
(AP Photo/Rick Scuteri)

Arizona State women’s basketball coach Charli Turner Thorne was named the John R. Wooden Pac-12 Coach of the Year Monday evening.

Turner Thorne’s Sun Devils finished the regular season 25-5 overall and 16-2 in the Pac-12, good enough to earn Arizona State’s first regular-season conference title since 2001.

It’s the second time Turner Thorne has captured the honor. She also won it back in 2001.

Turner Thorne, in her 19th season at ASU, has a record of 379-218 in Tempe to go along with a 202-139 conference record. She has coached the Devils to 14 postseason appearances, including 10 NCAA Tournament berths (and two Elite Eight appearances) in the last 15 years. The only year ASU didn’t play in the postseason during this stretch was 2012-13, the season following Turner Thorne’s one-year sabbatical from coaching.

In 22 seasons overall, including three years at Northern Arizona from 1993 to 1996, Turner Thorne has a coaching record of 419-257.

Arizona State also had five players earn All-Pac-12 recognition Monday.

Sophie Brunner, Elisha Davis and Katie Hempen were named to the 15-member All-Pac-12 Team. Davis also earned All-Defensive honors, while Brunner and Kelsey Moos received Defensive honorable mention.

Sabrina Haines received All-Freshman honorable mention.

The Sun Devils open the Pac-12 Tournament in Seattle as the No. 2 seed and will play either seventh-seeded Utah or 10th-seeded California Friday at 11:30 a.m. MST.

Penguin Air

Arizona State Basketball

Arizona State guard Shannon Evans II (11) celebrates with the cheering crowd after a making basket ...
Wills Rice

ESPN’s Gasaway: ASU, Arizona’s best basketball transfers wins

ESPN’s John Gasaway took a stab at what he thought to be the best transfers in and out of each basketball program in Pac-12 history.
1 month ago
Pac-12 logo on the field during the NCAAF game at Sun Devil Stadium on November 09, 2019 in Tempe, ...
Associated Press

Pac-12 Conference suffers 36% decrease in revenue in 2020-21

The Pac-12 suffered a 36% decrease in revenue for the 2020-21 fiscal year due to pandemic-related cancellations in football and basketball.
1 month ago
Frankie Collins #10 of the Michigan Wolverines drives to the basket against Fatts Russell #4 of the...
Arizona Sports

Arizona State lands Michigan transfer, former 4-star recruit Frankie Collins

Point guard Frankie Collins will transfer to Arizona State after playing one season at Michigan, he announced on Twitter.
2 months ago
Jay Heath #5 of the Arizona State Sun Devils reacts after scoring a three pointer during the second...
Arizona Sports

Former Sun Devil G Jay Heath transfers to Georgetown

ASU basketball's second-leading scorer from last season, Jay Heath, is transferring to Georgetown, the school announced Saturday morning.
2 months ago
NCAA president Mark Emmert listens during a Senate Commerce, Science and Transportation Committee h...
Associated Press

NCAA President Mark Emmert to step down no later than 2023

NCAA Board of Governors Chairman John DeGioia announced the move Tuesday and said it was by mutual agreement.
2 months ago
Arizona State Sun Devils fans and cheerleaders raise their arms during the team's game against the ...
Arizona Sports

ASU and SMU basketball reschedule home-and-home series

Arizona State and Southern Methodist basketball rescheduled a home-and-home series with the first game next season in Dallas.
2 months ago
ASU’s Charli Turner Thorne named Pac-12 Coach of the Year